BLOG

Florida Insurers Seek Workers’ Compensation Rate Hike

Florida workers’ compensation insurers are seeking a 19.6 percent rate hike for employers. The National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI), an organization representing insurers, proposed the change on May 27 after recent Florida Supreme Court rulings struck down parts of the workers’ compensation system.

NCCI’s proposal comes in response to the court’s decision to strike down a 2009 law limiting attorney fees for lawyers who represent injured employees. The ruling was the result of a case where an attorney was awarded an equivalent rate of $1.53 an hour for 107.2 hours of work after winning a case for an injured Miami worker. The court said in a 5-2 ruling that the 2009 law was unconstitutional, as it challenged the “reasonableness” of attorneys’ fees.

An earlier May filing proposed a 17.1 percent increase in rates. After taking into account the impacts of a recent case involving compensation paid to an injured St. Petersburg firefighter, however, NCCI bumped the proposed rate to 19.6 percent.

According to the Florida Chamber of Commerce, a rate hike could threaten job growth rates in the state. The rate hike, however, follows 13 years of decreasing rates. If the Office of Insurance Regulation approves the rate hike, the changes will go into effect on Oct. 1. A public hearing on the topic will take place on Aug. 16 in Tallahassee.

Written by Vincent Michael Last Updated : March 23, 2020

In The News

How Mediation Works

Mediation is a popular form of alternative dispute resolution because of its many benefits. Two of those benefits are being

What Happens After Deposition in a Personal Injury Case?

After deposition in a personal injury case, several things will happen, including settlement negotiations, potential mediation, discovery, and trial preparation

How Do You Know if Your Deposition Went Well?

Once a personal injury lawsuit is filed, you will likely be required to attend a deposition. A deposition may seem

What Happens at a Deposition?

When you’ve been injured in an accident that was someone else’s fault, you and your attorney might decide you have

assoc_logo_01
assoc_logo_02
assoc_logo_03
assoc_logo_04
assoc_logo_05
assoc_logo_06
assoc_logo_07
assoc_logo_07

GET YOUR FREE

CASE EVALUATION